Getting Started

Hello everyone!

I stumbled across this forum a few weeks back when looking for information about making a violin. As the thread title would suggest I am a novice and have a few questions. Before I get to that, though, I'll try and explain my situation.

I have a copy of "The Art of Violin Making" by Johnson and Courtnall as well as "Violin Making" by Bruce Ossman. I've read through Ossman's book and am working my way through the Johnson/Courtnall book. I have a few woodcarving tools (chisels and gouges as well as a single sharp knife) but I don't have any planes, rasps, or files. Lastly, I have a copy of the Strad poster of the "Viotti" Stradivarius.

My questions are as follows:

1. After searching the forum a bit it seems like the Viotti Strad isn't necessarily the best violin to make a copy of for a novice. I'm not too sure I understood the conversation I read but it seems like the arching and thickness are somewhat unusual. Also, if I read correctly, the Viotti isn't symmetrical which can cause a bit of confusion for a novice. Is this all correct? Should I perhaps look elsewhere for an instrument to copy? It's not too big of a deal since I might be getting the Titian Strad poster for Christmas.

2. I was originally planning on starting from scratch but it seems that a common piece of advice is to build a first instrument from a kit. I'm hesitant to do this as I feel that it would be more "fun" ("fun" being challenging) to make an instrument from scratch. It feels like I'd be merely assembling an instrument someone else made and might not learn as much from doing so. That being said, selling an instrument I made from a kit might be a neat way to make the money I'd need for an electric bending iron, fancy-pants calipers, or any other fancy tools I might feel like getting. Is it even possible to sell a kit-built instrument though?

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic