Sign in to follow this  
GlennYorkPA

AMATI VIOLA

I'm studying this case which surfaced recently in Canada (it was one of two posted here on MN) and we all assumed it was a violin case. Although the case has the dimensions of a violin case the cavity for the body of the instrument is a whopping 17.75". This instrument must have been like a small cello.

The inscription on the plaque reads 'Antonius et Hieronimus Amati Fratres Fecerunt Cremonenses An Dom MDCXX.

post-5422-0-32240000-1350262720_thumb.jpg

If the plaque records what was written on the label of the instrument, it was made by the brothers Amati in 1620.

Cozio only mentions the Primrose viola made by the brothers in c.1620 but it was a much smaller instrument.

Any ideas how to track down the one for which this case was made?

Glenn

I'm studying this case which surfaced recently in Canada (it was one of two posted here on MN) and we all assumed it was a violin case. Although the case has the dimensions of a violin case the cavity for the body of the instrument is a whopping 17.75". This instrument must have been like a small cello.

The inscription on the plaque reads 'Antonius et Hieronimus Amati Fratres Fecerunt Cremonenses An Dom MDCXX.

post-5422-0-32240000-1350262720_thumb.jpg

If the plaque records what was written on the label of the instrument, it was made by the brothers Amati in 1620.

Cozio only mentions the Primrose viola made by the brothers in c.1620 but it was a much smaller instrument.

Any ideas how to track down the one for which this case was made?

Glenn

This instrument on Cozio.com seems to be the right size: http://www.cozio.com/Instrument.aspx?id=4668

Do you know where the case originated?

Yes, the Primrose was altered (reduced).

post-17-0-86449800-1350272422_thumb.jpg

I believe the description for the larger viola listed on Cozio mentioned it was also reduced, from 47cm to 44cm.