Tailpiece selection

I would just like to get some of your thoughts on tailpiece selection in regards to tone. I've read that lighter is better but I've also read that some instruments respond better to a heavier one.

I'm also curious about the effect different woods/materials (ebony, boxwood, metal, etc) have on tone and what criteria, if any, one would use in deciding which would best?

Actually, I feel that the size of the tailpiece is more important. The tailpiece must allow room for the after-length to bridge (55.5mm) plus 3-4mm between the saddle to tailpiece bottom. I also heard this from more knowledgeable makers.

That being said, I would imagine that the total mass of the tailpiece must be kept low. I avoid adding heavy tuners. I use only a small e-string tuner.

Next, and I have no experience with this, is the adjuster (hanger). I use the nylon Sacconi. I have been told to try the new thin steel adjuster. Anyone have experience with that?

I too use the French model tailpiece.

Next, and I have no experience with this, is the adjuster (hanger). I use the nylon Sacconi. I have been told to try the new thin steel adjuster. Anyone have experience with that?

Not with the steel, but I've recently started using kevlar cord on all my wooden tailpieces. You can get it on Amazon (used for spearfishing) for not a lot of money.

I find it gives just a little clearer sound, and I like the fact that it stays right where you put it.

Not with the steel, but I've recently started using kevlar cord on all my wooden tailpieces. You can get it on Amazon (used for spearfishing) for not a lot of money.

I find it gives just a little clearer sound, and I like the fact that it stays right where you put it.