Sign in to follow this  
Skreechee

How can I promote myself as a relevant maker

A retired luthier who has been making violins for over 40 years took a look at my violins and said that I was one of the best makers in the UK. I am self taught and also by going on these forums, reading up a lot and started off making kits. It takes me a long time to make and varnish a violin but I get obsessed and have to finish it. I don't seem to make mistakes though now because I have studied and practiced. How do you get known for your work. Here is the back and scroll of my violin I put up. the pics aren't too hot its not dark like that on the back. The wood was wonderful to work with though. Nice and dry and also plyable. :)

post-5869-0-76041700-1335477628_thumb.jpg

post-5869-0-64744800-1335477641_thumb.jpg

post-5869-0-72087800-1335477665_thumb.jpg

As a novice in this professional field, I have two bits of advice. First, hold yourself in low regard. I am sure there are folk on here that would shout Pharisee at me for arguments I've made-- but all the same-- you never know how astoundingly accomplished a given luthier may be when you look them square in the eye and speak your mind.

They may have written the book on the subject.

Second, only being present with nice violins you've made can establish you. If shops can sell your fiddles, and if you are there at conventions and competitions, maybe you can become relevant.

I am struggling with it as we speak.

And an un-advertised third... if you no longer make mistakes, I can only hold you in the utmost awe. I think the reason that this profession is right for me is that, truly, it only gets harder as I go. Violins number 37 and 38 on the bench, and my living heroes are counting in the 3 and 400s...

A good luthier learns how to minimize mistakes, and cope with and disguise the minor mishaps. I doubt there's any Luthier having lived that didn't slip up one in awhile.