Maestronet Forums

How Good is Our Theory?

Michael_Molnar

I am a bona fide scientist and read the various theoretical proposals carefully and with great interest. I am also on TOBI-L.

My question is: How much has our various pursuits improved making a superior violin? For example, how has "plate tuning" helped to produce a violin competing with a Stradivari or Del Gesu? Show me one area that truly produces an improved instrument? Are we scientists/engineers just blowing smoke?

I realize that the Luddites will jump on this thread and try to turn this into a field day parade. So, I want my fellow engineers/scientists and experimenters to reply.

Stay tuned.

Mike

• Replies 148
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

As a semi-Luddite who has a scientific background, I have been trying to match up what the writers of up to a hundred years ago had to say about things like soundposts and bridges, with the modern journal articles on the same. The difference being, one is practical advice without explanation, the other explanation without practical application.

To me, this gap is quite frustrating. Anyone else feel this way?

Addie, not trained in acoustics.

I had a long reply, but it looked way too tiresome and I deleted it in favor of a brief opinion statement:

Plate tuning: nope*

Chladni patterns: nope

Micro-tuning: nope

modal analysis: not yet**

wood properties: some help

* plate tuning can help (vaguely) get in the ballpark of stiffness that you want. However, some great violins are stiff, others are flexible... the same can be said for horrible violins. So there's no magic path to greatness there.