Maestronet Forums

one string louder than the others

MikeC

as a beginner I know I didn't do the best job of set up but all the strings seem pretty even in sound quality except the open D which seems a little louder and seems to have more sustain than the others. If I tap on the body of the violin I can hear the D stand out more clearly than the others. Maybe it's not enough to matter since I'm not much of a player but just wondering what kind of tweaks I could do that would affect that one string.

as a beginner I know I didn't do the best job of set up but all the strings seem pretty even in sound quality except the open D which seems a little louder and seems to have more sustain than the others. If I tap on the body of the violin I can hear the D stand out more clearly than the others. Maybe it's not enough to matter since I'm not much of a player but just wondering what kind of tweaks I could do that would affect that one string.

I had a violin that had the very same problem...I always thought it was a graduation issue since I tried everything under the sun to remedy...I'm very curious too...I anxiously await a response to your question...

-Ernie

Normally the A0 mode is at C#, but if the fiddle is stiff, small, or has oversized F-holes you can get the air resonance up to D, and that might be the problem. Try partially covering one F-hole with tape and see what happens.

In your experience would one hole be better to cover than another? I would "think" that the bass side would be the one to start with. If it does not matter, is it just because it is the air resonance is at d instead of c?

In your experience would one hole be better to cover than another? I would "think" that the bass side would be the one to start with. If it does not matter, is it just because it is the air resonance is at d instead of c?