Sign in to follow this  
ilovefiddle

Samuel Nemessanyi

Dear Experts,

I've a violin confirmed by a famous appraiser (by high quality photo only) to be a quite fine and interesting violin of mid 19th centry, of which he cannot identify the exact origin. To my untrained eyes, it doesn't look like a German, French nor English. I'm thinking of a Bohemian simply because I'm not paying much for this violin compaired to the quality. An Italian of the same quality will be much more expensive.

Does anybody has information of mid 19th centry bohemian luthier? The only one I know is Samuel Nemessanyi and his followers, which I cannot find detail photos of his work to compare with. I know Samuel himself was an excellent copier, and wounder if his followes such as Karl Hermann Voigt and Bela Szepessy also copiers? Does anybody have detail photos? Any information will be appreciated. Thank you in advance!

PS. please excuse my poor english

First off, I'm not an expert!

Can you post a photo?

A genuine Nemessanyi isn't remotely cheap - though obviously you don't pay the silly money for it being Italian.

There are THOUSANDS of "Bohemian" makers from the mid 19th Century, the term covers all of what is now Czech Republic, Slovakia, some of Austria, Hungary, and quite a bit of Germany (have I missed anything?) - but if a "famous appraiser" can't give you a clue from a good set of photos then it's unlikely to be by a well-known name.

Did you buy this violin already or are you thinking of buying it?

Martin Swan Violins

Nemessanyi is Hungarys most holy (and copied) violin maker, a Schweizer puipil. The Hungarian colleagues would probably lynch you if they heard you call him Bohemian!

Benedik in his book "Ungarisher Geigenbau" (in German and English) has pictures of Violins from 1864, 1870, 1871, 1877, & 1879.

Carefull! The Hungarians also had there so called "English workshop" where they made many fakes of just about anything.

Dear Martin,