Horizontal Neck Angle

• Replies 77
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Mr. Burgess, you are of course also a demi-god! Yes, this was a mundane mechanical question but there was a lot behind it for me ... I should clarify a few points. The original argument wa

Posted Images

I'm still learning.. on #8&9. on this set I will plane the top FB surface to tip toward the E apr.1/2 mmm after leaving a platform over the normal height ,so that a "Normal fingerboard set" my be put on sometimedown the road. thanks to M. Darton. and I think D Burgess ...a few others as well for the sugestion..

Joseph Curtin, "Some Principles of Violin Setup," Journal of the Violin Society of America, November 1995

John Wodowski: This is a neck-set question. On the East Coast a lot of people rotate the neck toward the treble side half a millimeter or so, and on the West Coast, they rotate it the other way. I was told this makes the E side much lower than the G, the first way, and more equal, the second.

Mr. Curtin: I think this has to do with the relative differences in the rotation of the earth on the East and West Coasts. Seriously, at our shop we tilt it to make the treble side lower on the violin. This makes the playing angle lower. If you start hitting the treble C bout on a wide viola, for example, you might want to even things out. Gregg, you do that on violas, don't you?

Mr. Alf: On cellos as well.

Mr. Nigogosian: I am against it. On viola and cello, the C tends to be soft and the A metallic.

Joe Martin: Isn't it generally accepted that the top strings have a little more tension, and so are lowered to equalize the tension?

Mr. Curtin: I think that's probably right. The rotation helps the playing angle and the sound a little. I think this is what Nigo is saying. Thank you for your questions and attention.