Sign in to follow this  
Vibratoless

Hand Vibrato questions

1. Do you initially stop the string in tune and then move the hand back (and then forth) OR do you stop the string with the note flat and move the hand forward to the in tune position (rolling into the note)?

2. Is the hand vibrato possible with the ring and pinky fingers and on the g-string OR do you have to switch to arm and finger vibrato in certain situations?

I've been practicing vibrato 2 hours every day for 3 months and its still a problem to get beyond the slow mechanical back and forth motion that isn't a real vibrato that can then be developed. There has been moments where it really felt like I had broken through only to be let down next day when it just completely disappeared. I'm 45 and wondering if age plays a factor and if practicing 8-10 hours a day (I put the scroll against the wall) will make a difference.

The note must be in tune before you start to vibrate (in other word you have in tune-flat-in tune-flat etc..)

2 hrs of vibrato each day in the best way to injure yourself, especially if you are an adult :)

I heard V. Mullova explaining that as a young violinist she was only able to practise 2 hrs a day (that is before taking the train to go to school, because she had no time after that) and in an interview Milstein was explaining he could not understand how you can train more than 4 hours a day.

The note must be in tune before you start to vibrate (in other word you have in tune-flat-in tune-flat etc..)

Yes, starting on pitch and then rolling the finger backwards (slightly flat) is the way I learned vibrato. You don't go to the sharp side of the pitch.