Bass Bar Blues (I've got them)

Ok, I officially hate fitting bass bars. I'm having a heck of a time getting this done right and could use some advice here.

I trimmed a piece of spruce to the requisite 5.5mm at 270mm in length. I then did all my measurements and marked clearly where it should go. I then clamped it into place (untrimmed yet) and used a washer and pencil to trace the arc. I then trimmed the bar to the arc marking and then reclamped it to the plate. Now, I took some small blocks of lining and lightly glued them side-to-side around the bass bar in six places in order to keep the lateral placement exact while I chalk fitted it.

So far so good. Now, the chalk fitting was hard for me. Perhaps it is because the top is so dramatically arched, or more likely, it may be because I'm a rank amateur at this. Anyway, I toiled over the next two hours putting the bass bar on the chalk, scooting it length wise a bit, and then flipping it over to trim off the chalk marks with my knife. It seemed that each time I got close to a decent fit, it would fine-tune it a bit only to find that I was way off again. I tried using planes, sanding blocks, scrapers, and knives to get the fit right and never really got a perfect fit. There was always a few paper-thick gaps here and there. Often, I would get a perfect fit on the inside edge, but see lots of gaps on the other side. I felt like it was getting rounded, but could never locate the problem. Anyway, after getting it this far several times, I decided say it was "good enough" and begin gluing.

Well, naturally, I had tons of problems gluing as it would tend to slide down with pressure applied from the clamps. I finally got it to stay, but those gaps looked even worse. So, rather than let the glue set and always wonder if I did it well enough, I pulled off the bar, cleaned it and decided to seek better advice.

• Replies 75
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic