Sign in to follow this  
Jacob

Double bass

I have been asked by a retired friend in dire financial traits to try and obtain some info about his double bass - origin and possible resale value. Unfortunately I have very little knowledge of basses, so any help will be appreciated.

post-3040-009773000 1288774482_thumb.jpg

post-3040-061230300 1288774491_thumb.jpg

post-3040-026818400 1288774499_thumb.jpg

post-3040-040029600 1288774507_thumb.jpg

post-3040-078378000 1288774516_thumb.jpg

I am 90% certain this is a bass and not a viola, it resembles a cello i once owned though, i would take it to a seedy bar that has jazz on saturdays and ask the bass player, he wont be able to give you a country, but try asking him what he might give you for it then multiply that figure to your hearts content, jacob. :)

I'm not a bass person, but my 14 yr. old son is a bass player. The outside/double linings are an interesting feature that I saw on a bass a couple of weeks ago. No clue on the maker or value.

Yep. Either of those places would be able and willing. Ken Smith is pretty knowledgeable, and Jeff Bollbach, Arnold Schnitzer, and others at Talkbass are very helpful. It's like a Maestronet for bassists, bass-builders and bass-repair people. They were very helpful when I was building my first (only, so far) bass. I specifically woudl recommend the set-up and repair forum.