Sign in to follow this  
daddy-o496

Oil varnish recommendation.

I would like some recommendations for commercially available oil varnish. The varnish that I have been using is relatively inexpensive and when buffed up to a gloss, it kinda resembles plastic. I would like to know what varnish you use and where I can get some. I am an amateur builder and would like to upgrade to a nicer varnish. Thanx, daddy-o496.

You don't say what you are using ? It also depends how you are polishing/buffing ?

Tripoli can be used with water rather than oil - and gives a duller finish that responds well to a final polish with boiled linseed oil, or any other drying oil.

You can also give a final polish with the varnish itself with a bit a oil added. Then don't touch it again - let it settle and dry as it is.

I think you will find most cheaper varnishes much of a muchness as you already have. So much of varnishing is in the application - and different treatments of the final coats can make a big difference. Don't be afraid to try 'spiking' standard varnishes with extra oil or rosin oil, spike oil. larch etc - but try it out first.

The truth is its very difficult to get a good oil varnish that suits ones needs - thats why so many make their own !

Apart form the obvious 'big' names - there are also Trad Tonewoods- and in the UK, NRI - never tried either though.

Geoff

I think this IVC varnish is the Hammerl one that also can be found here: https://www.joha.eu/shop/en/

Don't know if daddy-o496 is here in Europe or not. Check for the shipping costs and decide.

I have used the Hammerl varnish with very good results.

I would like some recommendations for commercially available oil varnish. The varnish that I have been using is relatively inexpensive and when buffed up to a gloss, it kinda resembles plastic. I would like to know what varnish you use and where I can get some. I am an amateur builder and would like to upgrade to a nicer varnish. Thanx, daddy-o496.