Sign in to follow this  
The Black Prince

Violin too loud - advice please

Hello

I am new to violin playing, though a very experienced musician with classical piano (diploma) and rock guitar (don't ask!). I have a Cremonese violin made in 2005 that I have owned since new but have just recently begun playing - which is a fascinating and rewarding experience.

It is fitted with Dominant strings and though it is opening up quickly, it is very loud in my practice room (indeed everywhere!). I am using an Arcam Veloce CF bow, which possibly does not match the instrument very well, but is what I have for now.

Obviously I could use a mute but a) I don't want to compromise tone whilst I am learning how to make this instrument "sing" and :) a simple bridge mute on the D & A strings does not cut the volume enough - it cuts it a bit but mainly "deadens" the violin, to my ear.

I have discussed this with my teacher and she will consult her orchestral friends for advice on a string change. However, I would value input here before I see her next week.

I am looking for a warm and controllable tone if that makes sense. As I am a Violin novice, strings that will take a lot of playing in are probably not ideal.

Many thanks.

James

If you can stand them (though they require more tuning than modern strings, for about the first 400 years no one thought that was a problem) gut strings (wound gut, not plain) might be a nice solution. They'll take some of that extra energy, calm it down, and also give you a more complex tone quality that you might like.