Sign in to follow this  
Bowler Hat

I think you can learn how to play, but you must know that they will sure be some sacrifices. For example:

Theres no warranty you wont get a bad habit, some problems are dificult to spot without help.

Playing with your teacher usually can helps a lot with intonation.

You will have a harder time progressing and more time-consuming.

Now some advices :) :

Try to follow a method. If you happen to use Suzuki, id suggest you also use a complementary method, one with more excercises and scales.

Since you already play an instrument, you might progress a lot faster than you think, but dont neglect the basic studys or take any leaps or shortcuts.

Watch your bow distribution when playing, this can be easily ignored if you study by yourself.

I studied for sometime without help and, to me, a teacher can really speed up stuff. Now I feel very confident and I like the way I play, and I dont really know if I could have done it without a teacher.

Oh and also, id stay away from Expert Village. The blog seems ok, but why not go straight to professorv's youtube channel? http://www.youtube.com/user/professorV Also check http://violinmasterclass.com/mc_menu.php

Hello All!

I have recently acquired a family violin that will be up and running in the next few weeks. When I get it back from the shop I'd like to start working on it, playing wise.

And in that quest, I come across a dilemma. I am a poor college student (oh whoa was me for wanting to be an engineer :-p) and would like personal lessons, but if my 6 years of lessons for piano taught me anything (other than piano) it is that good teachers cost money, and the exploration to find the right teacher takes time and money.