Bow repair question

I have been re-hairing bows for quite a few years now, and consider that my re-hairing skills are at a competitively high level (which took some years to accomplish), but, I have always shied away from re-cambering decent old bows because of the problems that can occur with them.

Well, I have never really been very confident with my ability to do this - though I have done it before with really bad off student bows, and have seen it being done by someone else- who used an alcohol flame - an alcohol lamp.

I send customers who need a re-camber to Albuquerque for this service, because they do that there at one of the Bigger shops - I know the guy there that does it, and am comfortable referring customers to him. I've watched him do it - and he's really good at it...

How many people here who do bow work, also re-camber old bows, and how often do you find yourself having to refinish the bow because of damage the heat can do to the surface finish?

What heat source do you use?

And, if you don't ever have problems re-cambering - do you ever have occasional surface scorching or blistering ?

Do you re-camber "by eye" or do you use a jig?

I have a box of old practice (junker) bows and I will remedy this lack - I hope to get some hints here.

Thanks.

I have been re-hairing bows for quite a few years now, and consider that my re-hairing skills are at a competitively high level (which took some years to accomplish), but, I have always shied away from re-cambering decent old bows because of the problems that can occur with them.

Well, I have never really been very confident with my ability to do this - though I have done it before with really bad off student bows, and have seen it being done by someone else- who used an alcohol flame - an alcohol lamp.