Sign in to follow this  
Tim McTigue

Classical Guitar/Violin duets?

I'm not sure if very many folks here will be familiar enough with classical guitar repertoire to really know what I'm talking about, but here goes:

I'm a longtime classical guitarist (not an expert, but I've received compliments), and I'm looking forward to taking violin lessons for the first time this year, once I finish making my first violin. At any rate, I've been playing in my mind with possibilities for guitar/violin duets that might be offered by some of the standard classical guitar repertoire, and I'm wondering if anyone has done much of this. Some of the pieces I've played are, for instance, "Capricho Arabe" and "Requerdos de la Alhambra" by Francisco Tarrega, as well as Milan pavanas, and various other pieces by Fernando Sor and others. I'm thinking in particualr that Capricho Arabe, and some of the Sor pieces would sound really nice as guitar/violin duets. Not that I expect to be able to approach this anytime soon, I have to learn the basics first, but I'm wondering what experience anyone has relating to this sort of thing?

Tim, if and when you start making these arrangements, I'd be very interested in trying them out!

Are you looking for published repertoire as well? In that case I can put some lists online here.

I'll probably get to where I can create an arrangement long before I'll be able to play it, since I'm starting from scratch with the violin. I should probably take a stab at it soon, so I can see if what's in my head relates at all to reality. I'd be very interested in published repertoire as well - I haven't listened to much violin music at all, but I'm starting to, and I haven't been aware of anyone pairing these two instruments - from what I've seen (and heard), the violin seems most often to be paired with piano...