Maestronet Forums

Did I start too late?

MStearns

Hi, I started playing the violin when I was 4 and stopped a year later. Then just recently I started again ( I started again at 14) I have been playing for 1.5 years and I have broken through the first 3 suzuki books and I am now playing in book 4. I am playing in two youth orchestras (Florida youth Orchestra, and a new one at my school) And I was wondering whether I could possibly make it to a professional level. I am planning on applying to UM in two years at their frost school of music. Is this dream possible?

-Michael

I think it is possible to have a career in music even if you have started later. It all depends on how hard you work. Being a "professional" musician has a lot of different definitions: soloist, chamber musician, orchestral musician, teaching and performing, free lancing etc. A kid may start playing when they are 5 or 6, but may not take playing seriously until much later. I think we live in a culture that in some ways is obsessed with youth. So unless you start playing when you are 3 or 4 years old OR unless you aren't super talented as a kid, we often get the message that music, as a hobby, is all we can hope to achieve. But, the truth is there are plently of people out there that didn't start playing until later, but we are so enthralled with prodigies, that the late starters often get lost in the shuffle. Carter Brey, principal cellist of the New York Philharmonic started playing the cello when he was 12.