Sign in to follow this  
C.B.Fiddler

How much "individuality" is acceptable?

This question has been touched on in the past, but we have so many new members now doing very interesting work, I thought I'd bring it up again.

I am a beginner. So it is my mission to learn violin making in the traditional sense. This I will do until I have consistent and purposeful results and then go my own way. My question, though, is what is it that defines individuality in a modern maker, particularly one that is not a copyist? Is it a matter of excellent workmanship amidst untraditional parameters, or is it infinitely more subjective?

It seems that the slightest deviation from traditionalism can knee-jerk a reaction toward amateur luthiery. Would you agree?

Thank you,

CB

(That's Chris Burndrett for those wondering which of us are real :) )

I think you are doing right, that is, following the steps of the classics... ... after that (and it's not a short way) your own style may be unveiled by itself.

Personality, in general is revealed in small details, I like Rocca as an exemple of personality (and Del Gesù, of course).

Individuality cannot be helped. If there are people who can overcome it in their work, they are very rare.

Individuality shows in the countless choices you made as you executed your work, the proportions in your details, the quality of the shapes, the tools you used, how you used them. Not just each separately but also the pattern of choices as a whole. This quality shows through even in the work of most copyists, as I understand it.

So although someone who knows what they’re doing will do “all the right things”, the way they do them will be individual to them, the corners a little more this way than that way, the quality of lines, all the countless details.