Maestronet Forums

Best way to test projection of a violin

pigcat

I've come across this subject recently. What is, in your exprience, the best way to test the projection of a violin, without going to concert hall?

What I did in the past 2 years is, playing with a grand piano with the lid fully open, and have somebody listen the whole playing from far away. The venue is usually a big piano showroom with low ceiling, upright pianos everywhere and carpet floor. You know, shopping mall shop lots kind of place, but of a big showroom. I miss my music college, where there're a few big auditorium with dry acoustic where I can do more tests but since I graduated I don't have time to travel back to the college again.

I always got a good feedback on my violin, where listening from far away, even a slight out of tune can be heard clearly all the time, despite the piano lid is fully opened and no dynamic piano accompaniment (f~fff playing). Can this be misleading?

I appreciate if you're about to comment that I don't need projection since I'm no soloist, I absolutely know I don't need that. But since don't have a chance to go to hall to play, so I'm just curious about it. :)

Take 10 violins to a concert hall, ask a soloist to play the instruments, put a line of 10 judges at the back of the hall, and you'll get 10 different answers most of the time.

In other words, it's alot to with the player and the acoustic of the hall or room.

The sound proof practice studios at my old college where not the best acoustic for testing.

I think there's abosulte answer to your question, but some buyers and players do like to test in small concert halls to get more of a feel for the instrument.

What's your goal ?

Take 10 violins to a concert hall, ask a soloist to play the instruments, put a line of 10 judges at the back of the hall, and you'll get 10 different answers most of the time.

In other words, it's alot to with the player and the acoustic of the hall or room.