1. A self taught maker will never be successful at his/her

craft.

2. Unless you attend a violin making school and graduate you will

not build great instruments.

3.  Unless you are a graduate you will never be taken

seriously by the industry.[dealers]

4.  A player will pay tens of thousands of dollars for a

violin by a well known maker but will not pay a few thousand for a

violin of the same quality by a local maker.

5. All instruments made by graduates of a school look similar.

6.Local variations in style are frowned upon.

7. Unless your instrument looks like it was made by a graduate, it

will not do well at a violin making competition.

8.  all of the information available from books, internet,

forums and instrument collections will not be equal to the

information taught at a violin making school.

9. You cannot develop your violin making skills to their highest

potential unless you apprentice with a well known maker

Discuss.

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I know a few makers who never went to a school,it hasnt seemed to harm their reputations.

I agree on your point of instruments from certain schools looking alike. I have noticed it recently in the last few years with American makers from certain regions.

Newark school instrument are quite easily recognised, as are Cremona school.I think some makers can shake off what they,ve been taught ,and develope more of their own style ,other dont seem to be able to.

quote:

1. A self taught maker will never be successful at his/her craft.

ummm, no.

I've been making conductor's batons for a year or so now - with some very succesfull results.

quote:

There is a maker named Finn Meyer in Minneapolis, MN who has a very unique style - not deviant, but unique. He or his work is by no means frowned upon.

quote:

Originally posted by:
Darren Molnar

craft.

2. Unless you attend a violin making school and graduate you will

not build great instruments.