Comford shoulder rests

The only occasion when one should waste precious time on a company that does not reply to inquiries is when that company is the only one that supplies a given product. There are plenty of shoulder rests out there. Wolfe Forte Secondo is my favorite. They have a wide soft pad, are made of metal, and have good thick rubber feet. They are also comfortable and non-detrimental to the tone provided the clamping force is the minimum required to stay on the violin.

I am surprised that they did not reply to your e-mail. The last time I contacted them, I got a reply within 24 hours.

I was actually looking for a shoudler rest for my daughter and this was one of the one considered. However, we did not end up buying it because the p[ostage was too expensive (we live in Australia). She is now using a Wolf (cannot remember if it is a Primo or Secondo) and is very happy with it.

Cheers,

Allegro

As a teacher, I find the Comford shoulder rest plants the violin at an abnormally high and away angle for most players. It also doesn't allow for enough left shoulder natural movement, rather plants the shoulder down. So unless you are very tall with long arms I think it isn't a very realistic, ergonomic solution for most players.

vlngeek

I had not recognized the name at first, however, I have tried these rests on a friends violin. The model (I do not know which) was very heavy.

I have tried four or five different manufacturers for both tone and comfort. It is a mistake to think a shoulder rest is going to "improve" violin tone. It is more a question of limiting detrimental influence. Some rests offer better acoustics, but the effect is subtle at times. I still like Wolfe from the acoustical aspect as well.

You need to experiment with the degree of clamping force. It is easy to constrict things with a rest that is too tight. Conversely, some violins need a notch taken out. It is good to compare tone to the benchmark of no rest.