Sign in to follow this  
warren

Is this violin too good for me?

Dear all,

I am an absolute beginner when it comes to violin repair. The violin here is one of four broken violins that I purchased on the bay to practise violin repairing. The other three are, as I expected, pure junk. This however looks reasonably good. I have proceeded to open the top and am not sure whether I should go any further. The internal work looks decent to my untrained eyes. The only significant damage is a long straight crack on the right f hole side that is not close the bar area. The question is - is this violin something too good for a beginner like me?

Regards,

Warren

I agree with Manfio... Looks like you did a pretty good job of removing the top... I would save it for your last project of the four... just my two cent's!

--------------------------------

MARK

I'm going to disagree with the rest. The violin is in excellent shape now, and cracks in a clean violin are the hardest job there is to do right in the whole spectrum of repair. If you decide to do it, please just glue it--don't try to retouch it, and especially, resist the temptation to scrape the outside to make it level if it isn't after gluing. If after you've glued it, the two sides are absolutely, perfectly even with each other, you've done well, and you could run some clear varnish in the crack to seal the wood, but I wouldn't go one step further without outside help.

What makes a good repair on a crack like this is if it ends up totally invisible afterwards--not a hint that it's there, including no shiny streak of new varnish down the front. If you do less than that, down the line someone's going to be looking at it and asking, "Aw, why did he do that? This was such a nice violin." But if you just glue it and don't mess with the varnish around it, it will be much easier to straighten it out later. Retouch is usually where things go horribly wrong, and I would learn retouching on something else.