Advice on whether to buy this fiddle

Dear Friends-

I am going to upload some photos of a violin that I am looking at on Ebay. I am hoping that those of you who have some expertise can offer any judgments about its apparent functional integrity, and if the overall craftsmanship is satisfactory. If it doesn't appear to have any potential problems, I will more than likely buy it. The price is almost too good, to my mind.

Any other comments would be appreciated as well, especially about what type it is, since there is no label, and the fellow knows nothing about it. He was kind enough to send me these improved images to help me decide if I wanted it. The item is listed here. I have no knowledge to judge its origins, whether chech, german, etc., or if it looks like a So- and- So copy. Anything you would share with me would help me tremendously.

It doesn't matter to me whether the violin is a masterpiece. I have my own considerations for staying at the cheap end of the purchasing scale, altough it would be nice to hear someone say "oh, but it has the whatever of a TRUE whatever.". But if it is obviously too cheap to be worth any in- depth comment, then please just say if it looks worth at least a double c-note.

And thanks for indulging me.

Here is just an opinion.  Unless you are capable of doing all

of the repairs yourself the instrument doesn't look like it is

worth it.  In one photo you can see that the rib has come off

of the lower block.  It could just be that the rib has come

loose or it could be that the lower block is cracked.  If you

take it to a good violin shop for repairs I suspect that the

repairs would greatly exceed the value of the instrument.

Well, the fingerboard is a dyed softer wood and should be replaced with an ebony fingerboard ($100 or so) and it appears from the side view that the neck angle is too low, a repair that requires the skills of a maker and around here costs $100 to $250 depending on how it is done.