Maestronet Forums

Violin hickey or tumor?

Samantha

You should see a doctor. It is my understanding the violin hickey starts as a chronic irritation which can develop into a number of local skin conditions over time as it heals, gets re-irritated etc. I have noticed them on several well-known professionals. A professional violinist I know recently had one removed as a tumor. This does not mean they are all tumors. Her son began in childhood but quit many years ago, still that spot still doesn't "shave right". It is a misconception to regard it as some sort of badge of honor. It is a mechancal problem to be avoided.

: Does any one's kickey have a little lump beneath the skin? Previously, someone had mentioned something about violin hickey turning to tumour. I suspect my hickey has turned into a tumour. Or is it just a hardened skin?

Could be a deep zit, too. I get those.

: Any response would be appreciated!!

: Samantha

I am a teacher in Boulder Colorado and had a student who had a lump under the skin. It turned out to be a pea-sized cyst which the doctor removed with a local anesthetic. Hope this helps: : Does any one's kickey have a little lump beneath the skin? Previously, someone had mentioned something about violin hickey turning to tumour. I suspect my hickey has turned into a tumour. Or is it just a hardened skin?

: Could be a deep zit, too. I get those.

: : Any response would be appreciated!!

: : Samantha

Samantha,