Sign in to follow this  
Natalia

Shoulder Rests

I'm really looking to experiment with shoulder rests. I've been using the same one for years, and it's not doing me any favours. Some say no shoulder rest at all, I've been trying out these red sponges a friend recommended and I'd be interested to hear any suggestions in brands of shoulder rests anyone may have, or other things to try.

Thank-you,

Natalia

ps- i'm brand new around here, so if this topic has already been discussed a lot, then i apologize for cluttering the page smile.gif

I have had some trouble which shoulder rests en chin rest myself. My neck aged, I had to hold the neck pretty tight etc.

The amazing thing is that when I started playing more and more, the problems disappeared!

Of course I don't know your situation, but, provided you're using alright material, don't doubt your equipment to soon.

Good luck

Ps. I like Wolf sholder rest a lot

I think that comfort and good posture are 95 to 99 % due to proper use of our BODY and only 1 to 5% due to equipment adjustment (shoulder rests and so on). I have seem people who are tight, stiff and awkward with every kind of rest, as others are natural and comfortable with or without rests.

That being said, I think, if you need a rest, just find one that is basically comfortable and provides the proper height. I think if anything to high is much worse (and more common an error) than too low. People seek out a false sense of security by having a rest, often too high, and that HOLDS the violin in place for them. Then they just "move around" the thing with left and right arms. This I think is bad for the music as well as the musician.