Sign in to follow this  
lupe0824

Becoming a piano teacher

No, unless you want to teach in educational institutions. But you do need to be able to play decently (who wants to take lessons from a teacher who cannot play anyway?).

T.

Well not only do you need to be able to play decently, you need to be able to be articulate, anaylse problems and have solutions to your students problems.

Depends on what you mean by "credentials." The strictest sense of the term would involve something like a Master's from Curtis, Julliard, Centenary, Manhattan, etc. (oh I'm being a snob; any accredited conservatory or college will do). However, Suzuki certification certainly counts. Also many consider several years of studying with private teachers a credential as well.

But odd credentials are possible. With a violinist, flutist, etc. anyway, if you are essentially self-taught, but are good enough to have passed an audition and landed a spot with a good orchestra (admittedly rare) I'd certainly consider that a valid "credential." (Maybe others would disagree..let's hear from you if you do)

Hi,

To be fair to students, a teacher should be qualified first before to start to teach.(private lessons) A music degree is better with proved ability to play very well the instruments. (in this case, piano)

However, in real life nothing is so perfect. Some very good teachers do not have the credentials.

To say they are not qualified is also unfair.

I took private violin lessons for many years ( on and off ) and I had five teachers. One was a violin

professor,one had a master degree in music, others never showed me any credential (not that I want

to check). If I was very serious a student, then I would make sure I follow the instructions of a well qualified teacher.