Sign in to follow this  
bryan

Suit jackets

What do you men violinists do about your shoulder rest / pad when it comes time to perform with the already shoulder padded suit jackets? Do you compensate somehow for the thicker shoulder?

I lowered the legs on my Kun to adjust. I then left them lowered and like the position, so next time I will lower them more I suppose. I have tried to see if there was enough padding to go restless, not for me at least.

It never occurred to me that it might be a problem and I've been doing it, one suit or another for the first 30 years and in the same old tux now for the next 25.

One thing I did do one orchestra concert last year, I just wore my (Joshua Bell style) long-sleeved black shirt that hangs out over my trousers. I reasoned that if the women have a choice between dressing like that, with a dress, OR with a tux, whys shouldn't the men??? Anything less would qualify as harassment, right?

Andy

Quote:

Anything less would qualify as harassment, right?

Andy

Only to a point. If you decide to emulate the spagetti straps or strapless fashions the lady soloists are wearing these days, YOU may be guilty of harassment -- of the audience.

On a related note, does anybody besides me feel that the long sleeve shirt and jacket (maybe even with a vest, if you're in a tux) restricts your movement, especially the bow arm? I find performing solo in a full tux is extremely restrictive and uncomfortable.

What if there were a specifically desiged shirt and jacket made especially for violinists? Say a full cut shirt w/ short sleeves, long cuffs (to give the impression of wearing long sleeves) perhaps fastened by elastic around the elbow. Combine this with a very lightly structured (or lightly lined) jacket with a little extra room in the upper chest area.

I haven't tried it, as I would of course, look ridiculous if I removed the jacket, but I think we'd sound a hell of a lot better...or at the very least, we'd feel more comfortable.