Sign in to follow this  
Aria

Looking for advice...

Hi all...

I have been a very serious musician all of my life, and burned out about 2 years ago. I stopped playing music entirely (piano/violin) for a good year, but have recently decided to get back into it. I've picked up my violin a few times and practiced for about an hour yesterday, but today my shoulders are hurting when I move my arms in any direction (bow arm is worse than the other). What gives?!

I played my violin for several hours at a time (for a few weeks, off and on) in December 2003, and didn't have any problems. I've never felt anything like this before and am a bit worried. Thoughts? I must have irritated them, but it shouldn't happen after only one hour, or?! I mean, I wasn't playing Sibelius! Just normal scales and etudes. :-(

Have any of you ever stopped for a good length of time? How did you get back into it? Anything I should watch out for? I'm open for tips.

Thanks for your input.

I stopped for 25 years. What you have to remember is that when you are not playing, certain muscles are on vacation. You have to ease into it. Also, you need to be sure that you are not doing something differently (and wrong) from when you stopped. The fact that you could play for hours with no problem before you stopped does not mean that you can just pick up where you left off, any more than when I do not work out at the gym for a while I can just go back and expect to be able to lift the same amount of weight or run as far as fast without working up to it.

...I agree with thom and eyes...plus, based on personal experience...maybe you should try easing back into it without a rest - or with a rest...depending on what you find more comfortable. When I tried to play with the rest I got so sore I couldn't play more than 10 min. without breaking...