Maestronet Forums

Strad vs. Del Gesu

llama

I'm only a novice at this, but with this picture, it's clear that the one on the left hand side is a Strad while the one on the right hand side is a del gesu. I judged from the f-holes and the C bouts. The more experienced people here maybe able to tell from other aspects, aside from my beginner-level points of view.

This is a good comparison of Strad vs. Guarneri. However, there are a lot more differences that cannot be shown with this photo:

1. Strad's work tends to strive for perfect symmetry, while del Gesu often are asymmetric. If you take a divider compass and follow the Strad curves on both Treble side vs. bass side, you will find that they are nearly 100% identical. But you won't find that on a del Gesu. Sometimes you will even see difference on the 2 sides of the del Gesu Scroll.

2. Del Gesu are generally slightly smaller in dimension, by a few millimeters. Therefore, it is easier for player with smaller hands.

3. Strad's arching tends to be flat, where del Gesu has higher arch. Del Gesu compensated the smaller dimension by higher arching to achieve equivalent internal volume of the sound box. In most case, he probably achieve more internal volume space from higher arching then what he gave up on the dimensions. Del Gesu sound tends to be darker due to the extra volume in the sound box. (just like viola sounds darker than violin because it has more internal volume.)