Unconscious humming while playing

I just listened to a tape of myself practicing and I heard myself humming! It was completely unconscious. My teacher had mentioned it to me once ("stop humming"), but I thought it was a one shot deal. Apparently, I do it all the time. I tried to not hum, and involuntary little noises continued to come out of my throat. Anyone else ever have this problem? I've been playing for 3 years. Several months ago, I taped myself quite a bit, and I wasn't humming then. Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Naomi

Musicians do that sometimes: you can hear Glenn Gould on his recordings singing. I worked in an orchestra once where a conductor did that (Franco Autori). I think the cure is self-awareness, but it's not a problem of intelligence. No one would accuse Glenn Gould of lack of intelligence, at least not lack of musical intelligence.

I wouldn't do it during orchestra or an audition.

Connie

Keep up the humming. Be you. The finest talents have done the same. I congratulate you and admire you.Related: I go berserk with joy when I listen to recordings of Errol Garner playing the piano. What gleeful sounds he makes while singing along with his own playing. Unmistakable, Remarkable.

I hum, too. It's actually more like letting out an occasional grunt than humming along with what I'm playing. I wish I could stop doing it, but since it's entirely involuntary and unconscious, I can't figure how to stop. Sometimes I drool on my fiddle, too, but that's another story.

Humming doesn't sound like such an awful vice. I knew a pretty good violist who, in his breathing while playing, would exhale so strongly in each breath cycle that it sounded like he was blowing his nose. Luckily this strong exhale wasn't audible beyond about 8 feet.