Trying out Pirastro Obligato

Catgut

After searching through this forum, plus the advice of fellow Maestronetters I've finally decided to bite the bullet and try Obligatos (my violin is currently fitted with Dominants, in which the sound is not exactly to my liking! Plus it's overly bright). It was a toss up between Eudoxas or Olivs, but given the costs, I thought the Obligato was a nice compromise. But I can rationalised that I'm not a professional , so Obligatos it is!

Anyway, I've ordered the set today and should receive it sometime next week. Can't wait to try them! If it doesn't work out, then I'll just have to try the others.

Will keep you guys posted. Thanks again to those who've given their input... it's been a big help.

You won't be disappointed. They are a fine string and they will give you something different by way of sound and feel to Dominants.

As to their 'life-cycle' - I think what they mean by saying they're short lived is that some feel the rich sound doesn't last as long as one would hope, rather than the strings becoming 'false' or the winding fraying - provided you're careful fitting them (which you should be with any strings since they are all expensive enough these days).

That's been my experience anyway through 3 or 4 sets on violin and viola.

Good luck.

Omo.

Actually I do find that all the composite-fiber Pirastro violin strings (Violino, Obligato, Evah) have somewhat fragile A-string windings as well as tending to lose their optimum sound sooner than some other brands. They're great strings nevertheless; after trying all 3 on my violin, I now swear by Violinos (which ought to be given a try by anyone who is also interested in Obligatos, as they're a bargain if they work well on your fiddle, and they feel great under the fingers).