Sign in to follow this  
mikeprocter

MD recorders

I want to record the (strictly amateur) musical efforts of friends and family. It seems that the right technology to go for is minidisc. I'd be grateful for any advice on the choice of machine -- either specific models (though the manufacturers sometimes market a given model only in certain countries) -- or, perhaps more helpful, the sort of desirable features I might not think of for myself. For instance, how can I best transfer material from the MD to my PC? Perhaps the most usful advice of all would be reference to some informative websites.

Mike,

I've been using a MD recorder for several years now. I've watched them gradually supplant analog tape recorders among people who do live recording.

Whether or not MD recorders are moribund in some sense, they are currently the only game in town when it comes to field recordings. Once you've heard your first MD recording and compared it with an analog tape, you'll never go back. DAT is still too unavailable and expensive for non-pros. Recorders which record direct to CD are still not portable enough.

I know it sounds silly to say this, but be sure the recorder has a jack for a microphone. Some new MD recorders are recorders only in the sense that they can record music from your computer, not a live mic.

Your MD recorder will NOT include a mic, either separate or built-in. You'll have to purchase one separately.

It would be nice if the MD recorder has a "line out." The earphone jack can be used to connect the recorder to the sound card in your PC, but it is slightly less convenient than a "line out."

I've always bought SONY recorders but that's simply because they are easiest to find in local stores.