Sign in to follow this  
valium

Best teacher in Hong Kong

Heh...what do you mean by best violin teacher?

Dennis Kim comes to mind ... Concert Master HK Phil... Curtis graduate...teaches at HK Academy of Arts.

Best? Who would say someone is the best? I would say if one doesn't practise, there isn't any best teacher for him/her. My ideal teacher is a inspiring one, like Leapold Auer.

Even if he/she is a solo artist, an orchestral violinist, or even a graduate from famous institute, that doesn't mean he/she can teach well. But of course, they have lots of experiences to share which would benifit their teaching.

Just my 2 cents .....

Guarneri in UK

@valium I know this post is 12 years old now.

But I can't let an incorrect statement remain searchable on the net.

Lim Kek Tjang is primarily a violinist and is indeed a great violin teacher. I studied with him in Australia in the 1980's before he took the post in Hong Kong.

He studied at the Paris Conservatoire with Jacques Thibaud and Georges Enesco.

As you've said, he is also a conductor.

Regards, Dan

(Reference: The way they play, Vol 2. Samuel Appelbaum)

@valium I know this post is 12 years old now.

But I can't let an incorrect statement remain searchable on the net.

He studied at the Paris Conservatoire with Jacques Thibaud and Georges Enesco.

There seems to be no record of that almost unbelievable feat.  Could you please clarify when exactly that happened ?

The following is based on the Wiki page of Lim.

http://zh.wikipedia.org/wiki/%E6%9E%97%E5%85%8B%E6%98%8C

He was born in 1928, had a first violin lesson with his father, then studied with Ivan Fedoroff in Jakarta. After the WWII, he went to Conservatorium van Amsterdam to study with Jos de Clerck who is said to be a second-generation pupil of Ysaÿe. In 1950, he went to Conservatoire national supérieur de musique et de danse de Paris and took private lessons from Enescu.